Living in Indiana brings…

Snow. And lots of it. So why not take advantage of its beauty and venture out into the cold for some awesome photos?

I’ve always had trouble photographing in the snow because I could never get the correct exposure. The snow either looked overwhelmingly bright, or way too dark.

taylorsnow   taylorsnow1

These two photos are ones that I took a few years back when I was still quite ignorant on how exactly to use my Nikon. I was playing around with it and taking pictures of my friend in the snow. As you can see, the exposure isn’t quite right and these photos would look much better had it been correct.

You can hardly make out the footprints that she left in the snow in the photo on the left. The photo on the right is just kind of mucky looking. Neither of these photos have attractive snow.

Alas, there is hope. Fellow blogger Katie McEnaney wrote up a list of tips while shooting snow. Her list includes all kinds of tips from adjusting exposure to using flash to help capture the moment. Here is one of my favorites that she shared:

snow-flash-9296Such a gorgeous shot that was captured with the help of some flash. All it takes is just a few changes, and you could have a gorgeous snow shot, too!

One thought on “Living in Indiana brings…

Leave a comment